Past Forward

Past Forward: The Complete Collection
^ To go to Amazon, click above title ^
A young woman, sheltered from nearly all modern living, suddenly finds herself alone. New friendships and experiences unfold for Willow. She grows, raises and hunts her food, chops wood like nobody else can, works from dawn to dusk and loves every minute of it. She’s strong in spirit and body. Survival, mystery, value of family and friends, all brought to us by an incredibly talented author.

Taking on a classic literary convention, Chautona creates a “fish out of water” story.  Poor Willow is so very alone, life is turned upside down.  This is a story of social and emotional growth. Willow was spiritually and physically strong, her mother made sure of that.  It makes me think of the Proverb “Raise up your child in the way he should go and when he is older, he will not depart from it.”  Willow’s Mom did not leave her daughter unprotected by God’s Word or without deep rooted faith.

Willow grew up learning to enjoy every bit of life, whether it was mundane and tiresome chores or doing something fun or exciting. She learned to appreciate every aspect of living intentionally, living to glorify God, no matter what she was doing.

A feature I enjoyed in the story was being able to read Willow’s mother’s journal throughout. It allows us to see glimpses of why Willow is the way she is and why she lived as she did. We could experience the emotions with Willow when she read the words of her mother. Later on, we were able to read Willow’s journals as well, which gave insight into the things she was learning and how she was changing and maturing.

If I write any more, I may say too much. So I’m leaving it here. It’s a great series and well worth the time to read.

(Return to my page about Chautona Havig)

Leave a Reply